Where is the Snow? :(

photoI just went to Big Bear mountain expecting at least a little bit of snow. I know it’s a dry season, but I did’t expect how little was actually there. The amount of snow was almost nothing, small patches in shady places that were there from a blizzard that happened in early december. It’s really concerning. I made a little house in one of those small patches of snow, but the space that the house is resting on was a spot where there was sunlight shining. I didn’t wipe it away or anything, it’s just that little snow.
I actually think this is really concerning. This is the driest that California has been since we started keeping records. I can’t help but think this is due to global warming, and I can’t help but worry that it might be too late to do anything at this point. That’s not a really positive way of thinking, though, so I’m hoping that if everyone does their part we can still fix this.
Last time Big Bear got this dry it led to bark beetle, which nearly destroyed the entire forest. The lake wasn’t even as low as it is now so I don’t know.
As for the house, it’s made out a pine cone (obviously lol) with bark as the roof and the pine needles were like a shade making thingy ma doodle. (real scientific word right there) The fuzzy worm looking things are like, cusiony chairs.
Yay. A nice winter lodge for the snow faeries! ^_^

One response

  1. This makes me sad, and I really don’t snow what to do about it. Someone call Elsa!

    January 22, 2014 at 2:58 am

Leave a Reply

